Thank You, Sarah Hale!

 

Did you know that the author of “Mary had a Little Lamb” also saved Thanksgiving? This will be my third Thanksgiving sharing Thank you, Sarah: The Woman who Saved Thanksgiving with my third graders. The children always LOVE this book and are surprised to learn that we almost lost Thanksgiving. Here’s its description…

 We the people of the United States…” Almost “Lost” Thanksgiving Yes. That’s right! Way back when “skirts were long and hats were tall” Americans were forgetting Thanksgiving, and nobody seemed to care! Thankfully, Sarah Hale appeared. More steadfast than Plymouth Rock, this lady editor knew the holiday needed saving. But would her recipe for rescue ever convince Congress and the presidents? Join acclaimed author Laurie Halse Anderson on a journey of a woman and a pen that spanned four decades, the Civil War, and five presidents, all so you could have your turkey and eat it too!

6 thoughts on “Thank You, Sarah Hale!

  1. I didn’t know that! I’m so glad I found your post. My dd is in 2nd grade, I bet she’d like to read that book with me. We like reading children’s historical books.

    Will definately be looking up the book.
    Thanks again!

    P.S. My name is Sarah. How cool is that?

  2. This book was a huge hit with my 5th graders today! I now have a new activity for the day before Thanksgiving. I will definitely read this yearly. Thank you, Schu!!! :)

  3. I enjoyed this soooo much that I ran out to buy a copy for my nephew. I know he will enjoy it! Thanks for being the “best of the best!”

  4. This is a premier Thanksgiving book. I am a Kindergarten teacher and I love using this book to introduce Thanksgiving. The pictures are wonderful to show the idioms and other big ideas in the book. And the humor is wonderful for adults and older students. I hope Laura Halse Anderson writes some more historical fiction!

Leave a Reply

