Interesting Wikipedia Assignment

I think this is an awesome idea. I regularly encouraged my third graders to add factual content to Wikipedia.

VANCOUVER – The more popular Wikipedia seemed to get, the more Monica Freudenreich was told by her professors at the University of British Columbia to stay as far away from it as possible.

The ever-growing online encyclopedia’s strategy of letting anyone with an Internet connection edit and revise, the argument usually goes, makes it unreliable, unacademic – and off limits.

But then Freudenreich, 21, was given a surprising assignment by her Latin American literature professor: instead of writing term papers, the class would be writing Wikipedia articles.

“I guess I was more intrigued by it,” says Freudenreich, who is entering her fourth year in international relations and Latin American studies.

“I’ve heard in the past that you could write whatever you wanted on Wikipedia but I didn’t really have any idea of how it works. I was a little nervous about it.”

Retrieve the rest at  http://www.cbc.ca/cp/Home+Family/080702/U070208AU.html

One thought on “Interesting Wikipedia Assignment

  1. Oh, how I like this. I am one of those professors who says do not cite Wikipedia! I do like the assignment. I hope to incorporate some version of the assignment in my future courses. Thanks for the heads up.

Leave a comment